Resources

This blog covers a range of topics in mental health and graduate studies in Social Work, but even I can’t tackle it all! For your convenience, I have listed several reputable sources of information below that I recommend consulting for further information. I include both academic/professional sources and general consumer sources (as well as resources specific to social work students); however, if you are a patient, do not let formal language dissuade you from reading academic articles! Some of the best information out there today can be found in peer-reviewed journals and other scholarly publications, if only one knows where to look.

The resources below are by no means an exhaustive list, but have been strategically selected to reflect The Cozy Counselor‘s mission and help as many readers as possible. Each and every resource has been tried and tested by yours truly. If I have neglected a topic of importance in the resource list below, please feel free to email me at cozycounselor@gmail.com – I would love to hear from you!

Please note that some of these resources may be triggering or sensitive for some individuals. Should you choose to peruse these resources, you do so at your own risk. Use your best judgment, take breaks if needed and be sure to engage in self-care. Remember: only you know what is best for you.

Patient Resources

National Suicide Prevention Hotline — 1-800-273-8255

Suicide Prevention Lifeline Chat* — https://suicidepreventionlifeline.org/chat/

*Not appropriate for immediate crises.

TrevorLifeline (LGBTQ+) — 1-866-488-7386

Trans Lifeline — 1-877-565-8860

National Domestic Violence Hotline — 1-866-331-8453 OR text “loveis” to 22522

National Sexual Assault Telephone Hotline — 1-800-656-HOPE (4673)

NEDA Helpline — 1-800-931-2237 OR text “NEDA” to 741741

NEDA Eating Disorder Screening Tool — https://www.nationaleatingdisorders.org/screening-tool

ADAA Fact Sheets (Anxiety and Mood Disorders) — https://adaa.org/understanding-anxiety

Project Semicolon (Suicide Prevention) — https://projectsemicolon.com/

To Write Love On Her Arms (Self-Harm Prevention) — https://twloha.com/

Break the Cycle: Know Your Rights (Dating Violence) — https://www.breakthecycle.org/know-your-rights

That’s Not Cool (Teen Dating Violence) — https://thatsnotcool.com/

Sexual Assault Survivors Bill of Rights Act — https://www.congress.gov/bill/114th-congress/senate-bill/2566

RAINN State Law Database (Rape/Sexual Assault) — https://apps.rainn.org/policy/

How to File a Title IX Complaint (Sexual Harassment/Assault) — https://nwlc.org/resources/how-to-file-a-title-ix-sexual-harassment-or-assault-complaint-with-the-u-s-department-of-education/

Psychology Today’s Find-a-Therapist Tool — https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/therapists

How Do I Select a Therapist or Counselor? — https://lifehacker.com/5874359/how-do-i-select-a-therapist-or-counselor

NIMH Clinical Trials — https://www.mentalhealth.gov/get-help/clinical-trial

PAX, the OCD Chat Bot (Requires Facebook) — https://www.facebook.com/paxtheOCDbot/

Resilient Blog (Depression Recovery) — https://resilientapp.com/

Calm Meditation App — https://www.calm.com/

Pacifica App (Anxiety and Stress Relief) — https://www.thinkpacifica.com/

Academic/Professional Resources

American Journal of Psychiatry — https://ajp.psychiatryonline.org/

Child and Adolescent Mental Health (Peer-Reviewed Journal) — https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/journal/14753588

Journal of Mental Health — https://www.tandfonline.com/loi/ijmh20

NIMH Recent Publications — https://www.nimh.nih.gov/labs-at-nimh/research-areas/clinics-and-labs/geb-sdge/recent-publications.shtml

The Think CBT Workbook (PDF) — https://www.thinkcbt.com/images/Downloads/PRINT-WORKBOOK-THINK-CBT-V-09.05.17.pdf

The Dialectical Behavioral Skills Workbook (PDF) — http://www.millercounselingserv.com/uploads/9/0/5/1/90518949/dbt_skills_workbook.pdf

Dealing with Trauma: A TF-CBT Workbook for Teens — https://www.slideshare.net/tlassiter80/dealing-with-trauma-a-tfcbt-workbook-for-teens

Trauma-Focused Cognitive Behavioral Therapy for Children Affected by Sexual Abuse or Trauma — https://www.childwelfare.gov/pubPDFs/trauma.pdf

Psychology Tools Free CBT Worksheets — https://www.psychologytools.com/download-therapy-worksheets/

Family Therapy Basics: Free Library — http://familytherapybasics.com/free-library/

Developing Your Self Care Plan (University at Buffalo School of Social Work) — https://socialwork.buffalo.edu/resources/self-care-starter-kit/developing-your-self-care-plan.html

Self-Care Assessment (University at Buffalo School of Social Work) — https://socialwork.buffalo.edu/content/dam/socialwork/home/self-care-kit/self-care-assessment.pdf

Resources for M.S.W. / M.S.S.A. Students

Social Work Licensure: A State-by-State Guide — https://www.mswguide.org/licensure/

Social Work State Continuing Education Requirements — https://www.continuingeducation.com/social-work/state-ce-requirements

Occupational Employment Statistics and Wages: Social Workers, All Other — https://www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes211029.htm

MD, Ph.D., LCSW, MFT: What Do These Letters Mean for Therapists, and Why Should You Care? — https://patch.com/california/pleasanthill/bp–md-phd-lcsw-mft-what-do-all-these-letters-mean-an8cfc2871ee

NASW FAQs: Starting a Private Practice — https://www.naswma.org/page/177

Opening a New Private Practice (NASW) — https://careers.socialworkers.org/documents/Opening%20a%20Private%20Practice.pdf

Independent Clinician: Free Private Practice Mini Workshop — https://learn.independentclinician.com/pp-mini-course-optin

What makes a good placement? Findings of a social work student-to-student research study (The International Journal of Social Work Education) — https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/02615479.2018.1450373

The Meaning and Value of Supervision in Social Work Field Education (Simmons College) — http://fieldeducator.simmons.edu/article/the-meaning-and-value-of-supervision-in-social-work-field-education/

Official ASWB Test Prep Resources — https://www.aswb.org/exam-candidates/exam-materials/

Academic Review LSW/LCSW Test Prep Packages — http://www.academicreview.com/Social-Work

ASWB LSW Test Prep App — https://www.pocketprep.com/exams/aswb-msw/

Psych Drugs & Medications App — https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/psych-drugs-medications-psychiatric-meds-guide/id330545327?mt=8

Advertisements